Volleyball Schedule Announced

by Aug 28, 2019

Gavilan, CA – The Gavilan College Volleyball team has released their schedule for the 2019 season. At first look, it appears first year head coach Tyson Norton and his team might be playing in the toughest preseason schedule the program has ever had. Of their nine scheduled matches seven will come against playoff teams from a year ago, including match ups against the defending state champion runners up and the defending state champions.

The season will kick off on August 30th at the same court that the 2018 season ended in the CCCAA State Championship Semi-finals, at Solano College. This time however the Rams will be taking the defending Bay Valley Conference Champions Solano College, before taking on the second place team from the same conference, the Mustangs from Los Medanos College.

On September 6th and 7th, Gavilan will take part in the highly competitive 16 team Delta College Tournament. The will play their first match at 2 p.m. against coaching legend Kaneo Bandy and her squad of Cougars from Taft College. They will play one more match on Friday before taking on two yet to be determined opponents on Saturday. 12 of the 16 teams that will be present made the playoffs a season ago. Last season the Rams won the tournament for the first time in school history.

Up next for the Rams is the Sierra College Classic on September 13th.  The opponents for the day include Fresno City College, the team that ended Gavilan’s season a year ago in the fore mentioned CCCAA Semi-Finals. Then it comes host school Sierra College, who are the defending Big 8 conference champions.

The very next day on the 14th of September, Gavilan will take part in the Ohlone Classic. Here the will take on the defending Golden Valley Conference Champions, Feather River College. The Golden Eagles will be looking to get revenge on the Rams, who ended their season in the 2nd round of the NorCal Regional Playoffs a year ago. Then they will take on Ohlone College, a playoff team from a year ago that Gavilan knocked out in the first round of the NorCal Regional playoffs a year ago.

There is one more classic on the schedule for Gavilan, this time taking place at the College of San Mateo on September 18th. Here they will take on the defending CCCAA State Champions of American River College, followed by the host Bulldogs.

September 25th brings former Coast Conference South Rival Foothill College for a now cross-over match. The Owls are now a member of the North Division, where in the past 10 years the two teams have traded places at the top spot of the South Division.

A bit of change is in store for Gavilan on September 27th, as the will see a familiar face coaching across the net, Gabby Nevil-Houston. The former Cabrillo head coach is now in her second season as the head coach at the University of California, Santa Cruz a Division III program. This will be the season opener for the Banana Slugs, with the game taking place at the KP Arena.

As mentioned, a newly revamped Coast Conference South Division play starts on October 4th. This year’s conference play will include home and away matches with De Anza College, San Jose College, West Valley College, Monterey Peninsula College, City College of San Francisco and Mission College. Highly anticipated matches will include De Anza (October 4th & 30th) and West Valley College (October 11th & November 6th), a team that reached the State Championships a year ago and are looking to return. Sophomore night will take place on November 13th against City College of San Francisco. 

The final match of the regular season will take place on Saturday November 16th on the road against Cabrillo College. First serve is schedule to take place at 2:30 p.m.

November 26th will be the date of the 1st Round match of the CCCAA NorCal Regional Playoffs on a Tuesday night. Saturday the 30th will be the date of the 2nd round of the CCCAA NorCal Regional Playoffs. The CCCAA Sate Championships will take place over three days staring on December 6th through December 8th. The championships will be hosted by Pacific Coast Athletic Conference and will be played at San Diego City College in San Diego, CA.