Gavilan College Home Chat Button
Library Home Find Resources Research Assistance Library Services About the Library

 

 

Library Mission Statement While You Are in the Library Library Hours Library Staff

 

Gavilan Library Mission Statement:

Gavilan College Library provides a safe, respectful and welcoming environment in which the educational community and its work are supported via the delivery of traditional and emerging academic research tools and methods, and where students are encouraged to explore, discover, investigate and develop research skills for personal, professional and life-long learning.

Gavilan Library Student Learning Outcomes:

  • Students will use information technology tools to locate, retrieve, organize, and present information.
  • Students will increase their ability to state a research question, problem or issue.
  • Students will determine information requirements for the research question, problem or issue.
  • Students will use the library’s reserve course materials to assist them in their course work.

While You Are in the Library:

 

The Gavilan Library is committed to providing a pleasant, safe library environment and quality service. Please note the following expectations while you're in the library:
  • All library patrons are expected to behave politely and respectfully towards other patrons and toward library employees.
  • Please refrain from soliciting, selling or requesting signatures on petitions inside the library.
  • Please obtain permission from library staff before posting or distributing flyers and materials in the library.
  • Food & Drink: Please only bring beverages in closed or covered containers and snack food items to the library.
  • Brief low volume cell phone conversations are permitted, except at the computers. Please take longer conversations outside the library.

 


LIBRARY HOURS

 

2016 Summer Session (6/20-8/12)
Mon-Thu     8am-4pm
Fri         8am-12pm
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Holidays
July 4 - Independence Day
2016 Fall Semester (8/29-12/16)
Mon-Thu:  8am-8pm
Fri:  8am-3pm
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Holidays
September 5 - Labor Day
November 11 - Veteran's Day
November 24-27 - Thanksgiving Break
2017 Winter Intersession (1/3-1/26)
Mon-Thu     8am-4pm
Fri         8am-12pm
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Holidays
Jan 16 - Martin Luther King Jr. Day
2017 Spring Semester (1/30-5/26)
Mon-Thu:  8am-8pm
Fri:  8am-3pm
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Holidays
February 17 & 20 - President's Day
April 3-9 - Spring Institutional Break

Gavilan Academic Calendar for 2016-2017

 

LIBRARY STAFF

Doug Achterman
Head Librarian
Phone: 848-4809
email: dachterman@gavilan.edu
Gloria Curtis
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 848-4806
email: gcurtis@gavilan.edu
Dana Young
Instruction/Technology Librarian
Phone: 848-4806
email: dyoung@gavilan.edu
Donald Hausrath
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 848-4806
email: itihaus@hotmail.com
Diana Hanks
Acquisitions/Systems
Phone: 848-4812
email: dhanks@gavilan.edu
JoAnne Howell
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 848-4806
email: jhowell@gavilan.edu
Jillian Wilson
Cataloging/Repairs
Phone: 848-4768
email: jwilson@gavilan.edu
Peggy Mayfield
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 848-4806
email: pmayfield@gavilan.edu
Rachel Becerra
Circulation
Phone: 848-4810
email: rbecerra@gavilan.edu
Aloha Sargent
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 848-4806
email: asargent@gavilan.edu
Francisco Ojeda
Circulation
Phone: 848-4810
email: fojeda@gavilan.edu
Dolores Wiemers
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 848-4806
email: dwiemers@gavilan.edu