About the Library

Mission Statement

Gavilan College Library provides a safe, respectful and welcoming environment in which the educational community and its work are supported via the delivery of traditional and emerging academic research tools and methods, and where students are encouraged to explore, discover, investigate and develop research skills for personal, professional and life-long learning.

Gavilan College Library affirms the principles and details of the the American Library Association Library Bill of Rights and Code of Ethics including a commitment to patron privacy.

Library Student Learning Outcomes:

  • Students will use information technology tools to locate, retrieve, organize, and present information.
  • Students will increase their ability to state a research question, problem or issue.
  • Students will determine information requirements for the research question, problem or issue.
  • Students will use the library’s reserve course materials to assist them in their course work.

WHILE YOU ARE IN THE LIBRARY

The Gavilan Library is committed to providing a pleasant, safe library environment and quality service. Please note the following expectations while you're in the library:

  • All library patrons are expected to behave politely and respectfully towards other patrons and toward library employees.
  • Please refrain from soliciting, selling or requesting signatures on petitions inside the library.
  • Please obtain permission from library staff before posting or distributing flyers and materials in the library.
  • Food & Drink: Please only bring beverages in closed or covered containers and snack food items to the library.
  • Brief low volume cell phone conversations are permitted, except at the computers. Please take longer conversations outside the library.

LIBRARY HOURS

2018 Summer Session (6/18-8/10)

Mon-Thu  8am-4pm
Closed Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Holidays
July 4 - Independence Day

2017 Fall Semester (8/28-12/15)

Mon-Thu  8am-8pm
Fri         8am-3pm
Closed Saturday and Sunday

Holidays
September 4 - Labor Day
November 10 - Veteran's Day
November 23-26 - Thanksgiving Break

2018 Winter Intersession (1/2-1/25)

Mon, Tue and Thu   12pm-4pm
Wed and Fri            Closed
Closed Saturday and Sunday

Holidays
Jan 15 - Martin Luther King Jr. Day

2018 Spring Semester (1/29-5/25)

Mon-Thu  8am-8pm
Fri         8am-3pm
Closed Saturday and Sunday

Holidays
February 16 & 19 - President's Day
April 2-8 - Spring Institutional Break

 

Staff

Doug Achterman
Head Librarian
Phone: 408-848-4809
email: dachterman@gavilan.edu

Dana Young
Instruction/Technology Librarian
Phone: 408-848-4806
email: dyoung@gavilan.edu

Acquisitions/Systems
Phone:
email: 

Jillian Wilson
Cataloging/Repairs
Phone: 408-848-4768
email: jwilson@gavilan.edu

Rachel Becerra
Circulation
Phone: 408-848-4810
email: rbecerra@gavilan.edu

Sandra Mendoza
Circulation
Phone: 408-848-4810
email: smendoza@gavilan.edu

Tara Myers
Office Manager
Phone: 408-848-4810
email: tmyers@gavilan.edu

Hannah Clement
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 408-848-4806
email: hclement@gavilan.edu

Donald Hausrath
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 408-848-4806
email: itihaus@hotmail.com

JoAnne Howell
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 408-848-4806
email: jhowell@gavilan.edu

Aleah Kropholler
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 408-848-4806
email: akropholler@gavilan.edu

Peggy Mayfield
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 408-848-4806
email: pmayfield@gavilan.edu

Dolores Wiemers
Part-Time Reference Librarian
phone: 408-848-4806
email: dwiemers@gavilan.edu