Drug-Free Schools & Campuses Act
District policy AP 3550 prohibits "the use, distribution, sale or possession of alcohol, narcotics, dangerous or illegal drugs or other controlled substances, as defined in California statutes, on district property or at any function sponsored by the district." Gavilan College complies with the Drug-Free Schools and Campuses Act of 1989 and the Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1988.
The college recognizes the legal drinking age of 21 years and enforces all state laws regulating the use of alcoholic beverages. All members of the campus community are subject to disciplinary action and/or criminal prosecution for the on-campus possession, use, sale or distribution (by either sale or gift) of any quantity of inappropriate prescription drugs, or controlled substances as defined by the State of California Health and Safety Code. Students found to be in violation of this policy may be subject to the Standards of Student Conduct and Discipline Procedures. Any district employee who violates these laws is subject to prosecution by civil authorities and disciplinary action by the District.
For Free Confidential Assistance:
Further detailed information on the risks associated with the use of alcohol and other drugs may be obtained from the Gavilan College website: www.gavilan.edu/health and www.gavilan.edu/jobs/index.html.
As a student, if you are under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs, or if you are discovered selling or dispensing drugs on campus or at any college function, you can be suspended, expelled and criminally prosecuted.
If you are an employee at Gavilan College, you can be placed on probation, terminated and criminally prosecuted for the use, sale or possession of illegal drugs and/or alcohol on campus, or at college sponsored events.
For a first offense of driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, you may serve 96 hours to six months in jail and pay a fine. It is unlawful for anyone with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or above to drive a motor vehicle or ride a bicycle on a highway. For pot or marijuana (1 oz. or less), you can be fined up to $100 and receive a criminal citation.