Skip main navigation

Gavilan College Moves to Trustee Elections
by District Areas

Final "Trustee Area Maps"

Notice of Election - November 8, 2016

The nomination period begins July 18, 2016 and ends August 12, 2016. Trustee Areas 2, 4, and 6 are up for election this year, and Trustee Areas 1, 3, 5, and 7 will be elected in 2018

The general election on November 6 will be the first election for Gavilan College Trustees since the board voted to transition from at-large to district elections.

At their April 14, 2015 meeting, the Gavilan College Board of Trustees amended Board Policy 2100, Board Elections, stating the intention to transition to a system of by-district trustee area elections in time for the November 2016 general election. Under the new process, Gavilan College trustees must reside in, and will be elected by the voters in each of seven single-member trustee areas (TAs).

In past elections, voters in all parts of the college district elected trustees at-large, although trustee seats were trustees residing in three areas based on K-12 school district boundaries (two each from Morgan Hill Unified and Gilroy Unified, and three from San Benito High School District.) With a change to by-district voting, Gavilan’s trustees will be elected in each of seven single-member Trustee Areas, each with a Census 2010 total population of about 24,000.

In addition to Federal law, the process to establish area boundaries included opportunities for members of the public and the Board to offer opinions about which districting criteria were important. Residents of the northern, central, and southern portions of the District commented on the various draft plans, including maps prepared by LULAC/MALDEF

Elections offices of both San Benito and Santa Clara Counties are contracted to consolidate Gavilan’s trustee election with the General Election.  Eligibility to run can be verified and nomination paperwork can be processed by contacting the election office of a nominee’s county of residence starting July 18, 2016 with a deadline of August 12, 2016:

                  Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters

                  Candidate Services

                  1555 Berger Drive

                  San Jose, CA 95112



                  San Benito County Registrar of Voters
                  440 Fifth Street

                  Second Floor, Room 206
                  Hollister, CA 95023        



Residents of Santa Clara County must file in Santa Clara County and residents in San Benito County must file in San Benito County. The nomination period begins July 18, 2016 and ends August 12, 2016. Candidate handbooks are available at and


Last modified: July 26, 2016
Gavilan College Red Diamond 5055 Santa Teresa Boulevard Red Diamond Gilroy, CA 95020 Red Diamond (408) 848-4800